Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 23rd, 2009

Off topic: 25 things

The list started at 7 but somehow it has grown to 25.  Melanie Strout tagged me on facebook to write 25 things about me you may not know.  25?!?  I didn’t want to waste your time by mailing it in, so I actually spent the time putting this list together.  I hope it’s worth the read.  I’ve got several on-topic blogs half-written.  I promise to post those soon.

Here’s my list of 25 things you may not know about me.

  1. I have lived in 12 different houses or apartments in my life, in 8 different cities in 4 states, ME, MA, FL, TX.
  2. I stopped reading the newspaper comics the day Bill Watterson stopped writing Calvin and Hobbes.  I just knew it would never be the same.
  3. Both my brother, John, and I were born on Friday the 13th.  My birthday’s in December, his is in April.
  4. I have 2 older brothers.  Aaron is 6 years older than me and John is 1.5 years older than me.
  5. I love to travel.  I’ve been to Norway, Holland, Belgium, France, Germany, the Czech Republic, Russia, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Spain, Portugal, Italy, China, India, Guatemala, Mexico, Canada, & the UK.  I haven’t been to all the states yet, but I’m working on it.  I highly recommend visiting India. I am following a friend’s blog, Happily Lost, as she travels around the world for a year.
  6. My husband, Lee, was a professional chef for about 15 years.  He worked at Blue Ginger in Wellesley, MA, and Hamersley’s Bistro in Boston, MA. He also worked at Kool Beanz Cafe in Tallahassee, FL. To answer your question, yes, he cooks for me a lot and every meal is gourmet and really good.  His favorite food is the sandwich.
  7. I read for blind and dyslexic people.  Actually, I read and my voice is recorded for blind and dyslexic students (RFB&D Southwest).  I LOVE doing it.  I get to read a little piece of something really interesting for 2 hours a week.  I miss it when I’m not able to volunteer.  The other volunteers are very super interesting too.
  8. As a child, I played soccer, t-ball, basketball, did gymnastics, danced, rode a horse, swam, played piano.  I danced on point for a year.  I probably would have done it longer but when I was 11, we moved from Melrose, MA to Ormond Beach, FL.
  9. I’m a good luck charm for college football.  While I attended FSU, they won a national championship (1993) and when I was at UT, they won (2005).  Yes, you can pay me to attend your school so you can up your chances of winning.
  10. I competed in piano competitions as a child.  I won Florida’s top place in a piano quartet with my brother, John, in 8th or 9th grade.
  11. I always wanted to marry a guy who had a simple last name that began near the beginning of the alphabet so I’d have a last name that everyone could spell, and my name would show up at the top of lists.  I married a Baker then kept my last name.  Dumb? Yes.
  12. I went to High School in Daytona Beach when it was THE place to party for spring break.  The Chili Peppers, Lenny Kravitz and dozens of other bands played on the beach across the street from me while I sat in school.  I never skipped but lots of my friends did.  Most got caught as they always had school administrators waiting at the gates of the shows.
  13. I met my husband when I was 19.  We started dating when I was 20.  About 2 weeks after we started dating, I asked him, “Do you think we’ll get married?”  He said, “yes”.  We waited another 5 years before we did, though people were putting bets on when we’d elope.  We had a traditional wedding.
  14. When I was young, I had straight hair.  When I hit puberty it started getting curly.  It was very curly until about 2 years ago and now the curl is falling out of it again. And no, it’s not the weather.
  15. I love to bake and will use any excuse to do so.  Let me know.
  16. I’ve had my same hotmail account for about 15 years.  Not sure why I won’t give it up.
  17. I will never understand why more people don’t use mailinator.com.
  18. I know all the words to the song “You Can Call Me Al” on Paul Simon’s Graceland album.
  19. Anything below 74 degrees and I’m wearing a sweater.  I hate the cold.  This is just one of a number of reasons I think Austin is one of the best places to live.
  20. Pasta and Bertolli’s organic spaghetti sauce is my desert island food.  I eat it at least 1x a week, usually more.  I also eat a lot of organic oatmeal and organic apples.
  21. I don’t eat anything that has 4 legs.  No beef, pork, lamb, mutton, goat, etc.  I do eat poultry and fish.  I make 1 exception to my 4 legged rule and that’s rabbit.  I’ve only had it 2x but I’d eat it any time.  And yes, if a cow was born with 3 legs, I still wouldn’t eat it.  I have eaten this way since I was 20 so I’ve never had lamb and I don’t know what beef ribs taste like.  I do eat red meat when I travel overseas, though generally I don’t seek it out.  I’ve found that it’s hard to explain to a Russian who doesn’t speak English that I’m sort of a vegetarian.
  22. I have a scar on my upper lip and on my eyebrow and I don’t know where either came from.  My mother doesn’t know either.
  23. My grandfather lived to be a great, great grandfather.  For those of you keeping score, he lived to see one of his grandchildren become a grandmother. (It wasn’t me.)
  24. If you had asked me to predict 500 things in my future, my brother, Aaron and his family moving to Austin, Texas would not have been on the list.
  25. One of my favorite movies of all time is Raising Arizona.  I’ve seen it dozens of times and quote lines from it regularly.

Now, in the spirit of giving back. I would love to learn 25 things I may not have known from the following folks:

If you don’t have your own blog, post your list in facebook.  If you do, please link back in the comments, below.

Now back to the regularly scheduled Social Media Building Blocks programming.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.